Skip to main content


Stelco Holdings Inc. is listed on the TSX under the symbol "STLC"

Board of Directors

  • Alan Kestenbaum

    Executive Chairman

    Alan Kestenbaum has served as the Executive Chairman of our Board and our Chief Executive Officer since September 25, 2017. Mr. Kestenbaum has over 30 years of experience in the metals and mining production, trading, distribution and finance business. Mr. Kestenbaum founded Bedrock in 2015 in partnership with Lindsay Goldberg. He was also the founder of Globe Specialty Metals and was the former Executive Chairman of Ferroglobe PLC (NASDAQ: GSM).

    Prior to forming Globe Specialty Metals, Mr. Kestenbaum founded Marco International, a leading international metals trader and investor, and led its expansion in North America and around the globe. He has extensive investing and operating experience in the natural resources sectors as well as a successful track record in turnarounds and restructurings.

    Mr. Kestenbaum is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Bedrock where he is responsible for setting the vision, strategy, investment objectives and providing direction to achieve the strategic objectives of the company. In addition, he serves as an independent consultant to Ferroglobe PLC, advising on matters relating to international trade, contract negotiations, legacy customer relationships and business development opportunities.

  • Michael W. Dees


    Michael W. Dees has served as a member of our Board since September 25, 2017. Mr. Dees has been with Lindsay Goldberg since 2004, serving as a Principal before becoming a Partner in 2009. Previously, he worked at Morgan Stanley in the private equity and real estate private equity groups in New York and Tokyo. He earned his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School, where he was a George F. Baker Scholar, and his B.A. in Economics from Harvard College. Mr. Dees currently serves as a Director of Bell Nursery Holdings, Crane & Co., Dealer Tire, Odfjell Terminals, Schur Flexibles, VDM Group and Bedrock. He has previously served as the director of various private and public companies, including Aviv REIT and Klockner & Co SE.

  • Jeffrey B. Bunder


    Jeffrey B. Bunder has served as a member of our Board since September 25, 2017. Mr. Bunder is a partner at Lindsay Goldberg and serves as CFO for Lindsay Goldberg. He previously worked for over 25 years at Ernst & Young, most recently as the Global Private Equity Leader. He also formerly served as a Transaction Advisory Services Partner at Ernst & Young where he managed relationships with a number of private equity funds and led transaction diligence engagements around the world. He earned his M.B.A. from New York University and his B.A. from Emory University and is a Certified Public Accountant.

  • Alan Goldberg


    Alan Goldberg is the Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Lindsay Goldberg, a private equity firm that focuses on partnering with family-owned businesses and entrepreneur-led enterprises. Lindsay Goldberg was founded in 2001 and has invested in a wide range of industries in North America and Europe. Mr. Goldberg received his B.A. in Philosophy and Economics from New York University, his M.B.A. from the New York University Graduate School of Business and his J.D. from Yeshiva University.

  • Dr. Indira V. Samarasekera


    Dr. Indira V. Samarasekera is internationally recognized as one of Canada’s leading metallurgical engineers for her groundbreaking work on process engineering of materials, especially steel processing.  Dr. Samarasekera served as the 12th President and Vice Chancellor of the University of Alberta, from 2005-2015, one of Canada’s most respected research-intensive universities.  She also served as Vice-President Research at the University of British Columbia from 2000-2005. She is currently a Senior Advisor for Bennett Jones LLP and serves on the Board of Directors of the Bank of Nova Scotia, Magna International and TransCanada. She also serves on the boards of the Asia-Pacific Foundation, the Rideau Hall Foundation, and the selection panel for Canada’s outstanding CEO of the Year sponsored by Caldwell Partners and Bennett Jones. Dr. Samarasekera was appointed by the Prime Minister to serve as a Federal Member to the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments, until 2017.

  • Jacob Lew


    Mr. Jacob Lew is a Partner at Lindsay Goldberg LLC, and previously served as the United States Secretary of the Treasury from February 2013 to January 2017. Secretary Lew had previously served as White House Chief of Staff for President Obama, Director of the Office of Management and Budget, a position he also held in President Clinton’s Cabinet from 1998 to 2001, and Deputy Secretary of State for Management and Resources. Secretary Lew previously served as Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer for two different Citigroup business units, and Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of New York University. Secretary Lew is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the National Academy of Social Insurance. He received his B.A. from Harvard University and his J.D. from the Georgetown University Law Center.

  • Michael Mueller


    Mr. Mueller is a former global leader of PricewaterhouseCoopers’ Private Company Services/Middle Market Practice and a former member of PwC’s Global Audit Leadership Team, Global Advisory Leadership Team and the Global Markets Council. His previous positions with the firm also included National Managing Partner for Canada and Senior Relationship Partner for a number of the firm’s most significant clients. He is also a Chartered Professional Accountant, and a Chartered Business Valuator. Mr. Mueller currently acts as a member of the board of directors for the Windsor Detroit Bridge Authority and is a member of the management advisory board of the Odette School of Business at the University of Windsor. Michael Mueller has significant experience in financial management and accounting, having led global organizations through complex matters such as restructuring work across industry and government. He also has extensive board experience, notably as the chairman and member of the board of Smart Technologies Inc. from 2010 to 2016, and as a member of the board of Hydro One Inc. from 2007 to 2014. Mr. Mueller is from Windsor, Ontario, and holds an honours degree in commerce and received an honorary doctorate of laws from the University of Windsor.

  • Heather Ross


    Ms. Ross is a corporate director who currently acts as an independent director (governance & nominating committee) of the Information Services Corporation, a leading provider of registry and information management services for public data and records. In addition, Ms. Ross is an independent director (finance & audit committee) of the Museum of Contemporary Art (Toronto). Ms. Ross held various senior executive positions with TD Canada Trust from 2005 to 2017, most recently as Senior Vice President, Personal Banking Operations. Prior to joining TD Canada Trust, Ms. Ross was the President & General Manager of Lenovo Canada Ltd., prior to which Ms. Ross held various senior roles with IBM Corporation.